Summer Reading

With unexpected things happening this summer, some of them pretty significant, I was not able to read as much as I’d planned. I’m currently reading Funny in Farsi by Firoozeh Dumas, which all of our incoming freshmen are reading. I have to say that so far I’ve found that “Mildly Amusing in Farsi” would have been a more apt title, but it wouldn’t have sold many copies. I will say the book is educational for anyone such as I, who is fairly ignorant of Middle Eastern culture and how different it is from American culture. 

I also read the  timeless gem The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers. She is up there with Faulkner and Flannery O. I read  a very interesting quirky book called Butcher Boy by Patrick McCabe. I recommend it for anyone who wants something a little different. As usual, I’ve read many short stories. I highly recommend Kevin Winchester’s Everybody’s Gotta Eat. Winchester’s ear has perfect pitch for southern dialects. I’m just starting to check out Cut Men by  Steve Taylor. Very strong so far. Outliers by Malcom Gladwell is a nonfiction book that validates some things I believed to be true via my own anecdotal evidence.

I’ve talked to several poets this summer and I hope to read their work soon.  

Hope others had good summer reading. Please share any titles you found particularly valuable in some way. 

Sam

3 Responses to “Summer Reading”

  1. Melissa Walker Says:

    I absolutely agree about “Mildly Amusing in Farsi.”

  2. jessiecarty Says:

    I am reading The Heart is a Lonely Hunter for the first time right now. I have about 100 pages to go. I had a hard time getting into it, for some reason but after about the first 75 or so I found I was more interested in the characters. I think part of the reason i was hesitant with the first 75 is you could just feel the danger for these characters, almost scary to keep reading!

    I think Kevin has a book signing at Wingate on Thursday. I’m hoping to make it out to that 🙂

Leave a Reply

